24 AUGUST 1:30-3:00pm




Ian’s background as a British police officer serving as a tactical firearms officer, covert surveillance operative and National Crime Squad trainer has served him well.  


The Dan Calder series is a trilogy of crime novels, The Agency, The Second Grave and Frozen Summer, featuring this uniquely talented but also uniquely flawed ex-detective. His struggles with depression and a cupboard bursting with skeletons vie for attention as he reluctantly travels from England to the other side of the world and back again, attempting to prevent or solve some of the darkest crimes imaginable, while trying to maintain his loose grip on sanity all at the same time. Causing trouble or falling headlong into it is more than a habit for Calder and it’s only the depth of the crisis which ever seems to vary.  

Chair & Author



Nikki Crutchley lives in Cambridge with her husband and two daughters. No One Can Hear You is Nikki’s second crime novel, set in the small Waikato town of Crawton following the lives of four different women. It has been long listed for the 2019 Ngaio Marsh Award for best novel.

Her first book, Nothing Bad Happens Here, a crime/thriller set on the Coromandel Coast of New Zealand was a finalist in the 2018 Ngaio Marsh Award for best first novel.

Nikki has worked in libraries in New Zealand and the UK and now works as a freelance proofreader. Nikki’s flash fiction has been published online and in the Fresh Ink (2017) anthology and the Bonsai (2018) anthology.




Julie Thomas's first novel, The Keeper of Secrets, was published on Amazon and Smashwords and sold in excess of 52,000 copies. HarperCollins USA published it in 2013 in eight markets internationally and in 2015 HarperCollins New Zealand published Blood, Wine and Chocolate. This black comedic thriller debuted at number one on the Nielsen New Zealand Best Seller Fiction List and stayed on the list for sixteen weeks. In 2017 it was released in the USA through Harpers 360.

In 2016 Rachel’s Legacy, a sequel to The Keeper of Secrets, was published by HarperCollins New Zealand. This also debuted at number one on the Nielsen New Zealand Fiction Best Seller List and stayed on the list for six weeks. Last year Levi’s War, the final instalment of the Horowitz Chronicles, was published and tells the story of the eldest son who was a spy and a partisan fighter during WW2. Julie is working on a fifth book, a modern psychological thriller.



Come along and hear our panellists Nikki Crutchley and Julie Thomas talk about crime writing in conversation with fellow author and chair Ian Austin. Complimentary tea and coffee will be served. This event is supported by Poppies Bookshop with books for sale and signing. See map for venue. 

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon